Saturday, November 18, 2017

Harry Potter Festival! Some of it, anyway

Grad school is both hard and awesome. I am enjoying it, but it seldom gives me time to blog.

Sean and I went to a Harry Potter festival in Jefferson, WI, about 45 minutes away in the beginning of October. Basically the whole town just does stuff to celebrate Harry Potter and people from all over go. It was super packed, though definitely aimed mostly at children, and it was really fun. Here's some pictures:
This was the entrance to the corn maze, which was aptly named Serpent's Maze 
Professor Sprout made an appearance (with a mandrake) at a greenhouse attraction
Some fun signs! 



This was at the town's library 

Some talking portraits!  
I will post the rest of the pictures on facebook but it was great, they'll include a giant sorting hat, a werewolf, the dragon in the basement of the bank, and more of Jefferson, WI. We had veggie dogs for lunch and went through the corn maze. The town was fairly small, there were buses to move people around but Sean and I walked it all because the town was small. There were shops too, and we bought a Hufflepuff pillow and a wand and it's official living room decor because we're adults and we can.  

It was fun and apparently this festival is an annual thing!



Sunday, September 3, 2017

The Madison Edition

     We're in Madison! I am starting grad school in exactly 3 days! Sean and I drove across the US and now we're here. We're pretty much moved in and settled in our apartment. We've been exploring the town and it's been good. We really like it so far. My assistantship officially started a few days ago, and I had the chance to go out into the field and see the crop, as well as work on some of the data collection. I'm really excited to start school and my research and learn as much as I can. 

On the way up we ate in several different vegetarian/vegan places different cities.  Here are some pictures: 

In Addison, Texas at Loving Hut

Save the Earth Curry

Pad Thai

Obligatory Spring Rolls

Next we stopped in St. Louis at The Tree House
We both had the Mushroom Ravioli in a cream sauce 
Once we got to Madison, we had dinner at Sa Bai Thong, a Thai place

I had Pad-z-yew and Sean had an eggplant + tofu dish 
Sean made us burgers with the Beast Burger patties once we were mostly settled

Super delicious
We've been out to a place called Curry in the Box a couple of times 
Sean's Masaman Curry 
Here are some other notable pictures we have taken in Madison so far (: 



At the Capital building

A monument to women 





Some adorable chipmunks





I'll probably try to post weekly and keep it relevant. It's been great so far, and I'm really enjoying everything so far.













Sunday, October 19, 2014

Halloween and Haunted Houses

So idk where you guys all stand on halloween or whether you like it or not. and I think i generally like the idea of it, but i never really do much on halloween except maybe watch a scary movie. But this year i've gone to multiple haunted houses and it's awesome.
I went to the 13th floor haunted house and it was pretty intense. it's two stories, you start out in the basement and then go up a floor, I think. I went with a school organization so I got in for free, and while in there, because I freaked out and ran through one of the rooms, I caught up to my academic advisor (he had gone in with the group prior to my group) and cowered behind him for the rest of the haunted house. And while that definitely diminished the scare factor, cause he was really nonchalant about people with weapons jumping out at us, I was able to observe all of the effort that goes into the decor and the themes of each room, while also being slightly scared. And that was really cool. This haunted house had various themes, varying from an asylum, to a basement where murders occur, a graveyard with the undead jumping out at you, an elevator with a crazed bellhop, and then you know, the getting chased out by the guy with the chainsaw. There were other rooms, but I don't remember them all, this was a couple of weeks ago.
I also went to six flags, and during october they have fright fest, which is halloween-themed, and they have 4 haunted houses and 3 scare zones and I went to all of them. And these are much smaller and not as scary because well six flags has little kids going there and stuff, so while it took us probably a little longer than 20 minutes to get through all of the 13th floor, the ones at six flags were no more than 4-5 minutes each.
The first one we did, I was with friends, was a clown themed one that required 3D glassses so any concept of a wall we might have had was gone because the paintings and the pictures and the paint designs were all 3D. So this one was mostly scary clowns jumping out and screaming while you try to find your way out and this one was probably the shortest.
The next one we did was called RockKill High and it was a tour through a high school filled with zombie students and staff. We had a guide named Wendy, and she had the whole eerie-undead-child thing down really well. She didn't say anything unless you were lagging behind the group at which point she'd get all up in your face and yell to keep up with her. We walked through hallways, classrooms, a school nurse's office with a dead kid, a playground, and such, and it was pretty cool. Not too scary. I think this one was the longest one.
Then we did one called Hotel Fangerosa and it was a vampire hotel thing, and it was pretty typical. You know, vampires jumped out, tried to kill me, and then guided me in the right direction to where i'd find the next vampire trying to suck my blood. It had really cool decor, and I think that's my favorite thing about haunted houses, all the effort that is put in to make the room look incredibly scary and creepy and I feel like no one even looks at it because there's someone jumping out at you.
The last one was called Total Darkeness and they made everyone walk in holding on to each others shoulders in a train formation because it was completely dark. The point was to find your way through with the occasional help of a goblin flashing a light and yelling "this way!" Except we kept crashing into not helpful goblins who just screamed at you and flashed multiple lights. That one was confusing and disorienting but it didn't feel scary because I think what makes haunted houses scary is the creepy atmosphere and the scary things everywhere you look and not knowing when someone is gonna jump out or where they're going to jump out of, and you're just waiting for it to happen, so you're scared.
 The actors in these haunted houses were also much less up in your face and no chasing occurred, like it did in the 13th floor. (x
The scare zones were decorated areas you could walk through that had some sort of monster theme and they'd try and scare you as you walked through, but they were short and were mainly for getting from one place to the other. There was a zombie one, a crazy clown one, and a troll one.

So I like haunted houses, but I am weak, I get scared and nervous and want to run through so I can't be the leader of the group, but I like being second. I like looking at all the stuff they put in the rooms and I like guessing where people are gonna jump out of and trying not to be scared when they do jump out but being scared anyway. I also always somehow make eye contact with the people that do the scaring so they'll target me and that's uncool. But it's fun. and scary.
Also, I enjoy themes that are completely unreal because I know they're not real, like vampires and ghosts and zombies, but, BUT, there's another haunted house in town, Psycho Asylum, and I feel like that one would be a bit more traumatizing because people do actually go crazy and do crazy murderous things, This haunted house is not themed off of folly and silly fictional horrors, it is themed off of something, that while im sure is a long stretch, could, hypothetically, be true, like psycho serial killers, and idk, crazy people, i haven't been, and I don't think I will. It makes me uncomfortable.

Also, our school hosts Boo Bash, a fun and safe way for children to trick or treat in this neighborhood! They come to our dorms and we give them candy and there's like carnival games and attractions in the courtyard and parking lot and we dress up and have fun with kids. It'll be fun. I loved halloween as a teeny child, and I will ensure these children do too (:

Sunday, October 12, 2014

This week was hectic,

and that's my excuse for not blogging,

I had ridiculous amounts of things to get done, studying for tests, everyday homework, projects, essays, as well as events i was planning to attend. I got everything done, but it was really tiring, so i took today off from homework stuff. Understandably it was midterms week. and next week is only 3 days, we get fall break, on thursday and friday.
I have an open house at the dental school in town next friday which is exciting.
I have been asked to accept my nomination for the National Society of Leadership and Success,which is really awesome.
i'm going to six flags next saturday.
So i think it'll be a good week,

This was my agenda for the week.
I got to scratch everything off (: 

There's something ridiculously satisfying about crossing off everything on a to-do list.

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Hypocrisy

By definition, it sucks.
And mostly, I don't bother people about their hypocrisy, but there are a few things that really really upset me. Like grade grubbers who complain about 90s as bad grades and want perfect grades but don't do their group work or show up to group meetings. Yes, I'm in a group project with a shitty person. It sucks. I had to play smash brothers and destroy people because I was so angry at her. Wildly religious people who hate gays because of that one bible verse, but fail to recognize the bits where divorce is sinful and mixing fabrics also infuriate me. However, I think the thing that upsets me the most are people who are all against animal cruelty and want to save all the animals, but just the cute ones really because they have no problem eating steak at the end of the day. Those REALLY bother me. Just, ugh, so anyway. I've been vegetarian for like a year and 4 months-ish, and as I was ranting about people's hypocrisy I realized I have no right to be so infuriated with them because I continue to eat eggs and cheese. So I have decided to be vegan. As of now. So that I can avoid being what I dislike in people.

and cool picture I took back home while it rained!

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

im getting funnel cake

FUNNEL CAKE
there's a pep rally, and like
i have not a lot of pep, but i definitely want funnel cake! getting funnel cake right now! :D

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Tuesday afternoon

it's tuesday, and i got out of my chem lab early. 2 hours early. it's a 3 hour lab. and i did all my homework yesterday so I have a free afternoon. I haven't decided if I wanna go to yoga or just bum it 'cause how often am I gonna have a homeworkless Tuesday afternoon? Not often. so I feel like i should lay in bed to commemorate it.
I might get ahead on some bio stuff, which is cool. or I could go to the Dia de la Independencia events the school is hosting today. But i think I'll just lay in bed. Cause free tuesday!

Also my laptop charger broke and I need to buy a new one. .-. just a bit inconvenient.


Friday, September 12, 2014

Clouds

I like them. When I'm bummed, I look at them, They're  usually pretty and poofy and awesome. So I photograph them

like so:




I took this from inside a car with my lens polarizer and the car had polarized and fake rainbows happened.  

this one too. 

I like clouds.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

I've just received word that we'll be starting this again!

Which is cool. I'm down.
I got my ear pierced today!

It was a spontaneous decision made with my friend Megan. I like it. (: 
Also, I'm in school again and taking lots of classes and so naturally, I'm swamped with homework, but that's okay (: I don't mind too much. I'm just trying not to procrastinate ridiculous amounts of procrastination. I've been pretty okay about it so far. (: 

Sunday, October 20, 2013

House Party Tour!

so, A Day To Remember, All Time Low and The Wonder Years. Pierce The Veil canceled, cause Vic had a wedding where he was the best man so :b
IT RULED.
There was the acoustic set. 2 songs + Q&A



And we were the first in the venue after that, so I got to be all the way in the front, against the barrier, a little off to the side, the WHOLE time (: 

Neil Was just casually walking in the venue so I went up and asked for a picture (: 


Wonder Years played first, really good set, I kinda really like them now(: 


Then All Time Low which was jammy and I knew more lyrics than I thought I did. A girl in the crowd actually got to go up and sing with them, which is just super duper ultra mega awesome. 


Then A Day To Remember which just ruled, and was crazy and super fun. 




There's a mail box cause the stage was set up like a house. (:




Was a productive evening. We got to see the acoustic set, got a VIP laminate, a signed poster, a VIP shirt, I got a pick from both Neil and Jack (All Time Low), got The Wonder Years's CD, and a shirt form merch(:




Thursday, September 5, 2013

LIKE FIVE DAYS IN ONE POST!

I like school, I took a test and I got 100(: yayyy.

I went to the HALO social. It's a leadership organization. It was at the San Antonio Art Museum. This was in the contemporary art section. Such a strange section. Pink Electric Chair. It was interesting.


There are ducks by the lake. This is my friend Ana, posing with the ducks that wanted our fries. When she walked their way without food they began to disperse.

My friend Aarthi did a henna tattoo on me(: 'cause she can? lol. she's from India she just knows these things. it's pretty coool. 

I MIGHT GO TO PTV AND ADTR AND ATL THIS MONTH AND YEEEESSSSS! 

I got accepted into Trio, a student success program. quite nice, yes. they help with tutoring and writing and such. 


I might join a sorority. lol

First semester

Of grad school is officially done! It went well I must say. for like. all the new things i had to handle all at once. and I enjoyed it! I...